Pseudo-Aussie

August 21, 2006 at 9:29 pm Leave a comment

My colleagues from all over Asia-Pacific had descended on this little island and we’ve been hanging out a bit before they all left for home during the weekend.

During our bbq lunch on Saturday, they made me realise that there are so many things about me that are so much like them, they being either European or Aussies. Somehow, I seem to have lost my local flavours… maybe that’s why I never felt like I belong.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not pretending to be something I am not, nor am I throwing away my roots. But sometimes, I just seem to work differently, behave differently from my counterparts, the people I studied alongside with.

The Australia Government has some tests that are given to would-be immigrants to see if they can fit in the aussie culture. My aussie colleagues think I will pass with flying colours…

Maybe I am Aussie inside, though I don’t hold that passport. At the moment, I am content with being known as the Pseudo-Aussie… I suddenly feel like I belong…

Remember, people still ask me everyday if I am Singaporean. So how should a Singaporean be like???

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Brighton – rest of the week Happy 28th Birthday, Mike!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Reading List

Marley & I Good to Great Built to Last 1984 The World According to Clarkson

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 2,139 hits

